Skip to main content
Chemistry LibreTexts

The Four Main Stages of the Cell Cycle

  • Page ID
  • cell_cycle_5730c4e3f346c.jpg

    The cell cycle is a regular pattern of growth, DNA replication and cell division, that takes places in cells. 

    We break this pattern down into 4 main stages:

    • Gap1 (G1) - cell growth and normal functions
    • S Phase - DNA synthesis
    • Gap 2 (G2) - additional growth
    • Mitosis - this phase includes division of the cell nucleus (mitosis) and division of the cell cytoplasm (cytokinesis).